My Pap test came back abnormal! Do I have cancer?!


In November 2009, my doctor’s office called and asked me to discuss my recent Pap test.  I didn’t think too much of it at the time and agreed to come in the following day.

At my appointment, my GP advised that my Pap test had come back abnormal.  I still wasn’t alarmed.  I work in women’s health research, in the area of infectious disease.  Many of the studies I work on involve participants getting Pap tests, so I see these results all the time. Although I am not a doctor or a nurse, I know that many things can cause an abnormal Pap test.  Things like infection… perhaps I have a yeast or bacterial infection?  An STD?  Unlikely, but it’s good to get checked and be sure…  Perhaps when my doctor did the Pap test, she didn’t get enough of the right cells and the Pap test was unreadable?   All these thoughts ran through my head as likely causes.

However, this wasn’t the case.  My doctor said that my Pap test indicated CIN II/III.  Hmmm….  Cervical intraepithelial neoplasia, grade 2 or 3, or moderate to severe cervical dysplasia.  This is the point in my visit where I forgot everything I had learned in my career and lost the plot.  I HAVE CANCER!!!!  “No, my doctor assured me, “you do not have cancer.  However, there are some changes on your cervix that, over time, could turn into cancer.”  My doctor advised me that, as Pap smears are not diagnostic tests, simply a very effective screening tool, she was referring me for a colposcopy to take a closer look at these changes.

A few weeks later, I arrived at the Colposcopy Clinic for my appointment.  I was very nervous and still convinced I had cancer.  After watching the extremely dated, but very reassuring video, I was led into the clinic.  The nurse asked me a few questions (date of birth, last menstrual period, any allergies?  That sort of thing) and led me to get changed.  I was provided with two gowns (I never know whether to do them up at the back or the front!) and some very stylish paper booties.

After waiting what seemed like forever, I was led into an exam room.  I was greeted by a lovely nurse and the gynecologist who let me know what I could expect during the exam.  A colposcopy is much like a Pap test.  Same fabulous position (bottom so far down the exam table that it feels like it’s going to fall off, let your knees just “flop” open, please, feet in the always cold stirrups), and mostly the same procedure.  A speculum was inserted, just like a Pap test, but a colposcope was used to take a really close look at my (I’m convinced) cancer-ridden cervix.  (A colposcope is a large, electric microscope that is positioned approximately 30 cm from the vagina.  It has a really bright light on the end which helps the doctor see the cervix (and any changes) really clearly)

The very cool thing about this procedure was that I could watch the entire thing on a monitor mounted on the wall to the right of me.  It’s not every day a girl gets to see her cervix, and let me tell you, it was very cool!

The doctor then washed my cervix with a vinegar solution so that any abnormal areas would show up more clearly.  And there it was… a white blob that looked like a jelly fish had exploded on my lovely pink cervix.  Now I was really scared.  Surely this was cancer!  However, the doctor advised that his impression was that I did not have cancer.  Yes, there were some moderate changes that he wanted to take a biopsy of so that the pathologist could look for changes in the cells that might indicate that cancer is present or likely to develop.

The biopsy felt like a little pinch. Unfortunately, I did watch the biopsy being taken on the monitor and I wish I hadn’t.  As the cervix is quite vascular (has a lot of blood vessels), it does bleed a bit when a biopsy is done.  Magnified about 4 billion times, it looks like it should really hurt.  I honestly felt like a little pinch, but that picture told me it should hurt a lot more than it did.  The biopsy itself was about half the size of a pencil eraser.  My doctor would have the results back in a few weeks, the gynecologist said.

Off I went with some mild spotting and cramping that would last a day or two.  A little less frightened and reassured that I likely did not have cancer (although I still wasn’t entirely convinced).  And VERY relieved that I am religious in getting my annual Pap test!  What if I had skipped a couple of years??? You know, things get busy… life takes over…

A few weeks later, back at my doctor’s office, I was told that the biopsy showed CIN II or moderate dysplasia.  This meant that the abnormal cells involved about one-half of the thickness of the surface lining of the cervix.  It also meant that I did not have cancer!  It did, however, mean that these changes would need to be treated.  If the biopsy showed CIN I, these changes likely would have gone away on their own.  I would have another Pap test in 6 months or so and my doctor would have kept a close eye on things.  But, with CIN II, treatment is usually required.

Several weeks later, I was back at the Colposcopy Clinic for a LEEP.  A LEEP procedure uses a thin wire loop electrode to painlessly and quickly cut away the affected tissues on the cervix.

After watching another dated but nevertheless informative video, I was taken into the clinic room.  I opted not to watch this procedure!  Again, it’s much like having a Pap test.  Nothing hurt, but the freezing that they put in my cervix felt “pinchy” and the adrenaline made my heart pound a little.  Other than that, it was pain free and I was out the door in 15 minutes.  Three days of mild cramping and spotting followed.  No sex, exercise, or swimming for three weeks to prevent infection and to allow my cervix to heal, and no strenuous exercise for one week.  NO PROBLEM!

About six months later, I had a follow up colposcopy appointment.  Everything looked great and there were no abnormal cells remaining.  Hooray!  Since that time, I have only had normal Pap smears.

This whole experience taught me that I have been doing a great thing for myself in getting my Pap tests done faithfully.  I am very thankful I live in a place where access to Pap testing is free and encouraged.  It is one of the most important things we women can do to protect ourselves from cervical cancer.  Along with Pap testing, those of younger generations will also have the HPV vaccine. My young daughter, hopefully, will not have to go through the same worry that I did.

I only wish that other women, in less fortunate places, had the same access to these live saving screenings and diagnostic procedures, not to mention the HPV vaccine.

Thanks for allowing me to share my story with you.  I sincerely hope that it will encourage you to call your doctor, and book an appointment to get your Pap test today!

Melissa Lambrecht, WHRI Research Assistant

For further reading, I have included some links below to a few great websites that discuss HPV and Pap testing.

http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/PPI/Screening/Cervical/paptests/default.htm

http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/PPI/Screening/Cervical/hpv.htm

http://www.sexualityandu.ca/

http://www.hpv.com/pdc/hpv/index.jsp

http://www.hpvinfo.ca/

http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/std-mts/hpv-vph/fact-faits-eng.php

This entry was posted in Our Community, Powerful Women, Sexual Health, Sexually Transmitted Infections, Women's Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Pap test came back abnormal! Do I have cancer?!

  1. Arianne says:

    I have a very similar story, except that my abnormal pap and LEEP occurred when I was 20. Yikes! I sure am glad my mom was insistent on annual paps. I’m now 12 years post-LEEP and cancer-free, but I try to share my story as much a possible. The scary thing is that without that LEEP at 20, I would very likely be suffering from actual cervical cancer now in my early 30s.

  2. colleen gabrielle says:

    I have been through this about ten years ago but looks like I will have to do the same “circuit” again. But……this time really made me angry as I had my last PAP in November 2011 and today is September 12, 2012 and they are just phoning me now to tell me they found abnormal cells back in November!!!! They said it was considered an emergency that I come in right away so they immediately booked an appointment and I am seeing my doctor this afternoon regarding it. YA…….it’s an emergency now because you lost my test results………..OBVIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!!! I hope there is somewhere I can report this indicent to. I am just sick about this especially since early treatment can mean the difference between life and death.

  3. Xuan says:

    Thanks for sharing. My doctor office just called and asked me to book a follow up appointment only 2 days after my Pap test, I am super worried about the result even it seems so strange that the result shouldn’t be back that soon. My follow up appointment is a week after from today, I don’t know what to do right now:(

  4. Claire says:

    Hey thank you for your information . My pep came back for the second time abnormal and im goin to do my test with a guncologist sometime soon .
    I was really worried and your information helped alittle. Thanks

  5. Marsha says:

    Thanks so much for your post…I have LGSIL according to my abnormal pepsmear and have been advised to get a colposcopy. I am so worried and reading your post has relaxed me a little and to realize that it is something to not be taken lightly. God Bless You

  6. sarah says:

    i would like to say thanks as i found this page very helpful to me as i went for a test an it came back as cin2 just waiting on resulits . more people should be aware of this .

  7. Cathy says:

    my pap smear showed LSIL six months later it showed HSIL now I have to see a gynecologist for further testing I am scared Anyone experience something similar

  8. Karen says:

    Ladies, be aware that the GUARDISIL vaccine protects only against certian strains of HPV…not all, as there are hundreds of different strains. You still have to be very selective when it comes to sexual partners, but even that. is no guarntee. Don;t let the fact that you’ve been vaccinated with guardisil give you a false sense of security! However, I feel you should still have the vaccine as it protects against a few of the worst strains, but not all!!

    • Thank you very much for your comments. While you are absolutely correct that there are over 100 types of HPV, there are approximately 40 different strains that can cause anal and genital warts, while others can lead to more serious complications, such as cervical, penile and anal cancers. Other types of HPV can cause certain cancers of the head and neck.

      Because the HPV virus is so contagious, total prevention of the HPV virus is not easy. One of the currently approved HPV vaccines in Canada, Gardasil, provides overall cervical cancer coverage of about 70%. While that’s not perfect, it’s certainly significant, and research is constantly being done in this area. Gardasil provides coverage against two of the strains that frequently cause cervical cancer, 16 and 18, as well as the types that cause 90% of genital warts, 6 and 11.

      While using condoms and getting vaccinated are excellent prevention strategies, the only way to completely avoid contracting the HPV virus is abstinence of all sexual contact, even skin-to-skin contact with out penetration.

      For more information on HPV and cervical cancer, check out this great website:

      http://www.hpvinfo.ca/

      Melissa Watt

  9. Kelly says:

    Very informative! Means a lot to me. I have an abnormal follow up tomorrow and I was way more nervous before I read your post. I’m having faith

Leave a Reply

